Docs That Rock

Iron Maiden’s Doc Flies to Texas

On first glance, I was bummed about the film lineup at the upcoming SXSW festival in Austin, TX. Usually SXSW has the freshest set of new music docs and its the rare festival that thrills both my business and personal selves. If I only had to limit my job to one trip a year (insert economy joke, “at this rate, I may have to!”), I’d pick SXSW in a flash.

At first, the only announced docs were the Doors film (see coming post), Youssou N’dor, Anvil, Number One with a Bullet (which I saw at Urbanworld) – films that have been doing the festival circuit. But now they’ve added to the roster and I’ll feature these films in the next few posts.

IRON MAIDEN: FLIGHT 666 will screen in Texas and come out April 21st. It features the British metalheads on their 2008 world tour that saw the band play 23 sold out stadium and arena shows in 13 countries in just 45 days. They flew on a custom 757 plane they called Ed Force One (customed with a tail portrait of longtime skeletal mascot Eddie). This one could be just another standard issue tour documentary but its on my viewing schedule for my annual Texas sojourn!

February 24, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , ,

1 Comment »

  1. Just passing by.Btw, your website have great content!

    _________________________________
    Making Money $150 An Hour

    Comment by Mike | March 1, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

